2012 Illinois Governor’s Sustainability Awards

A pair of environmental recognition programs have joined together to honor Illinois organizations that have accomplished significant achievements in protecting the environment and helping to sustain the future. Winners of the Illinois Governor’s Sustainability Awards and the Illinois Campus Sustainability Compact Awards Program were presented during a luncheon in Oak Brook, IL. 


Twenty-one Illinois companies and organizations were honored with the Illinois Governor’s Sustainability Awards presented by the Illinois Sustainable Technology Center (ISTC).  ISTC is a unit of the Prairie Research Institute at the University of Illinois. Since 1987, ISTC has presented Governor’s awards to organizations in Illinois that have demonstrated a commitment to environmental excellence through outstanding and innovative sustainability practices that will also save money and help the economy.  Any Illinois public or private organization is eligible to apply for an award. Organizations who were first time winners received the Sustainability Award. Those organizations that have won in past years and are continuing their environmental efforts are awarded a Continuous Improvement Award.


“These businesses and organizations have shown that it is possible to create and maintain conditions under which people and the environment can exist in productive harmony, and fulfill the social and economic requirements of present and future generations,” said Manohar Kulkarni, ISTC Director.


The 2012 Governor’s Sustainability Award winners are:


Sustainability Award (first time winners)

Advocate Health Care – Oak Brook

Christopher B. Burke Engineering, Ltd. – Rosemont

CCH, a Wolters Kluwer business – Chicago

City of Moline – Moline

Clarke – Roselle

County of Will – Joliet

Flex-N-Gate Urbana – Urbana

Fluorecycle, Inc. – Ingleside

Knauz Automotive Group – Lake Bluff

The Label Printers LP – Aurora

Lawrence Foods, Inc. – Elk Grove Village

Naperville Park District – Naperville

Naval Station Great Lakes – Great Lakes

The Peterson Garden Project – Chicago

Quaker Foods & Snacks – Bridgeview

Testa Produce, Inc. – Chicago

Wight & Company – Darien


Continuous Improvement

Caterpillar Technical Center – Mossville

Farmland Foods, Inc. – Monmouth

Vaughan & Bushnell Mfg. Co. – Bushnell

Village of Schaumburg – Schaumburg


The other recognition is for participants in the Illinois Campus Sustainability Compact, which outlines environmental goals that colleges and universities may adopt on their campuses. The Compact includes objectives such as purchasing renewable energy, implementing green building practices, developing sustainable transportation options, improving water conservation, and incorporating sustainable dining practices. The program offers universities and colleges three levels of participation:

  • Bronze: institutions making a commitment to creating a sustainability program and engaging the campus community.
  • Silver: institutions which are ready to make targeted commitments to greening their operations and monitoring performance.
  • Gold: institutions that are integrating sustainability throughout their campus and working towards measured improvement.


The twenty-one Illinois colleges and universities being honored, and their recognition level are:



Illinois Institute of Technology – Chicago

Joliet Junior College – Joliet

Kankakee Community College – Kankakee

Lewis & Clark Community College – Godfrey

Moraine Valley Community College – Palos Hills

University of Illinois at Chicago

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Waubonsee Community College – Aurora



There were no colleges or university meeting the silver level standards this year.



Danville Area Community College – Danville

DePaul University – Chicago

Elmhurst College – Elmhurst

Heartland Community College

Lewis University – Romeoville

Lincoln Land Community College – Springfield

Northwestern College – Bridgeview

Northwestern University – Chicago

Roosevelt University – Chicago

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Southwestern Illinois College – Belleville

Triton College – River Grove

Wilbur Wright College – Chicago

One Reply to “2012 Illinois Governor’s Sustainability Awards”

Comments are closed.